Fully vaccinated travelers from 63 “low-risk” countries and regions can now enter Thailand without any quarantine requirements.

The policy change comes amid accelerating efforts to revitalize Thailand’s economy, in particular its tourism industry, which contributed about 20 percent of the country’s GDP before the COVID-19 pandemic.

While vaccinated travelers no longer need to quarantine, they face a number of public health requirements to enter Thailand. Here, we look at what travelers to Thailand must do to enter the country, and who is eligible to travel.

As of November 1, 2021, vaccinated travelers can enter Thailand by air without needing to quarantine. To do so, fully vaccinated travelers must present Thai authorities with proof of vaccination, a negative COVID-19 test, a reservation at an approved hotel, and an insurance policy.

Travelers must upload this information prior to arrival through a government portal; if successful, they will receive a “Thailand Pass QR Code” allowing them to enter the country.

The quarantine exemption is only available for travelers who enter Thailand by air. It does not apply to those who enter the country by other means.

Details of requirements for travelers are as follows.

Travelers must present a Certificate of Vaccination showing that they are fully vaccinated by an approved vaccine. Travelers must have received the last dose at least 14 days before entering Thailand.

Those who were infected by COVID-19 within the last three months must have received at least one dose at least 14 days prior to entry. Children under the age of 12 do not have to be vaccinated.

Update : changes from 16 December

Exemption from Quarantine (TEST & GO)

What’s New: In addition to arrival by air, travellers will be allowed to enter by land (at Nong Khai’s border checkpoint, starting 24 December, 2021) and sea provided that they meet the vaccination and testing requirements.

The current 1-night waiting period in a hotel and a confirmed payment (for 1-night stay at SHA++ hotel, 1 RT-PCR test, and pre-arranged airport transfer) will no longer be required.

On arrival testing will be changed to an ATK method from Dec. 16

Travellers under 6 years of age, travelling with parents with a negative RT-PCR test result within 72 hours before travelling, are not required to have a pre-arrival negative RT-PCR test result and can have saliva test when entering to the Kingdom.

Travellers 6-11 years of age, travelling with parents, must have a negative RT-PCR test result within 72 hours before travelling.

Travellers 12-17 years of age, travelling with parents, are not required to be vaccinated but must have a negative RT-PCR test result within 72 hours before travelling. Those unaccompanied must get vaccinated with at least one dose of an approved vaccine and must have a negative RT-PCR test result. 

Travellers previously infected within 3 months before travelling must have a medical certificate of recovery or get vaccinated with at least one dose of an approved vaccine for an unspecified period of times before travelling.

Read More

This article was first published by AseanBriefing which is produced by Dezan Shira & Associates. The firm assists foreign investors throughout Asia from offices across the world, including in in China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Singapore, India, and Russia. Readers may write to [email protected]

About the author

Leave a Reply

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of our weekly selection of news

You May Also Like

The ASEAN-Russia Trade and Investment Cooperation Work Program

ASEAN and Russia recently agreed to enhance and widen economic cooperation at…

Philippines Introduces New Economic Zone Authority Visa for Foreigners

The PEZA applications are processed within 10 business days (from the previous time of 1 month) and the visa is valid for up to two years with the option of renewing once for another two years, for a maximum validity period of four years.

An Introduction to Doing Business in ASEAN 2022

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established in 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand to accelerate economic growth and social development in the region. Brunei Darussalam joined in 1987, Vietnam in 1995, Lao DPR and Myanmar in 1997, and Cambodia in 1999.