Thailands Trade Negotiations Department has been assigned to speed up its negotiations with the European Union EU on its new generalised system of preferences GSP in order that some Thai merchandise items should still be listed under such a system.

The EUs new tariff under the new GSP will take effect in 18 months. Fifty-seven Thai items are likely to be dropped from the new GSP. Commerce Minister Boonsong Teriyapirom said Thai delegation will travel to Europe at the end of July in order to clarify to its delegates that some of the Thai goods should still be maintained in the GSP list for the Thai entrepreneur ability to compete.

Thailands income per capita currently exceeds US$3,700/year, the amount indicated by the EU for countries to receive its generalised system of preferences. Regarding the ongoing H1N1 pandemic in China which might affect Thai chicken exports to the EU, Mr Boonsong said he believed such goods will not be impacted. Thailands poultry farming is managed under a closed system with controllable prevention, he said.

via Thailand to negotiate with EU on generalised system of preferences.

About the author

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Get notified of our weekly selection of news

You May Also Like

New round of EU sanctions targets Myanmar military’s Oil and Gas cash cow

In previous sanctions rounds against Burma by the EU, MOGE was left untouched. The new round of sanctions is a new step by the international community against the Burmese military.

RCEP kicks in with Thailand, China and 8 other countries

With 15 Asia-Pacific countries covering about 30% of the world’s gross domestic product and population, the RCEP takes effect among 10 members that completed ratification: China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam

Thailand joins Indo-Pacific framework with 12 other countries

The 13 initial members of the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework (IPEF), are the U.S., Japan, India, South Korea, Australia, Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines, Vietnam, New Zealand and Brunei