As a chronically late person, one of my worst habits is telling people I’m late to meet that I’m “just around the corner” when in reality I’m not even close (five blocks counts, right?)
But those days could soon be behind me. Google just unveiled a new location sharing feature that allows friends to share their location inside of Maps and it could help users keep their obnoxiously-late friends accountable.
Set to roll out “soon” across Google Maps on iOS, Android and the web, the new location sharing feature lets you send your location to friends while you’re navigating to a destination so they can keep tabs on your whereabouts (and know when you’re lying about how close you really are.)
Once the feature rolls out, you’ll be able to access a new location sharing from within a new menu while you’re on the way to a destination. Select “share trip progress” to choose which friends you want to see your location.
The friends you’ve shared with are then sent a link that opens inside Google Maps and shows your location as you finish your trip. As soon as you arrive at your destination, or close Google Maps, the link will no longer work and friends will stop being able to see where you’re at.
Likewise, there’s also a slightly more passive location-sharing feature that allows you to broadcast your whereabouts to specific friends for a…