The Criminal Court has authorized the police investigator’s request to detain 11 anti-government leaders for 12 days on the charge of terrorism.

The Department of Special Investigation (DSI) on Tuesday sought the first detention of 11 core leaders of the anti-government United Front of Democracy Against Dictatorship (UDD) for terrorism. As a consequence, the court sentenced the group to 12-day detention during 15-26 June 2010 while all bail requests were denied.

The 11 UDD core figures alleged of terrorism comprise Mr Veera Muksikapong, Mr Nattawut Saikua, Mr Kwanchai Praipana, Mr Wiphuthalaeng Phatthanaphumthai, Mr Yosawarit Chuklom, Mr Nisit Sinthuprai, MD Weng Tochirakarn, Mr Korkaew Pikulthong, Mr Bhumkitti Sukchindathong, Mr Sombat Makthong and Mr Amnat Intarachote.

The first eight were earlier detained separately at Naresuan military camp in Phetchaburi province, and the latter three were at the Border Patrol Police Region 1 in Pathum Thani province. All of them will be taken to the Bangkok Remand Prison for detention.

via Detention of 11 UDD leaders for terrorism approved, bail denied : National News Bureau of Thailand.

About the author

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Get notified of our weekly selection of news

You May Also Like

Thai Government Confirms Attendance of All 21 APEC Member Economies

Chinese President Xi Jinping, French President Emmanuel Macron, Saudi Crown Prince and Prime Minister Mohammad bin Salman, and Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen are among the leaders and representatives scheduled to attend the meeting.