The 2022 Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Summit is scheduled to take place in Bangkok Nov. 14-19 where leaders of the 21 member nations will attend meetings Nov. 18-19.

Hundreds of foreign and local delegates are also expected to participate in the summit. The main events will occur at Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre in Khlong Toei District, Bangkok. Officials have declared a three-day holiday in Bangkok and Nonthaburi and Samut Prakan provinces to ease traffic during the summit.

Transportation in Bangkok could be affected by the event, as trains on the MRT Blue Line will not stop at Queen Sirikit National Convention Center on 16-19 November, while parts of Ratchadaphisek road will be closed off

Leaders from 21 Asia-Pacific economies

Leaders from 21 Asia-Pacific economies are expected to convene in Bangkok for the most important APEC meetings of the year, making the ALEW one of the most important international meetings hosted by Thailand in years.

The Royal Thai Police and the Bangkok Metropolitan Administration (BMA) have prepared a set of security and traffic control measures for the APEC Economic Leaders’ Week (ALEW), which will be starting on 14 November.

What is Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation?

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a regional economic forum established in 1989 to leverage the growing interdependence of the Asia-Pacific. APEC’s 21 members aim to create greater prosperity for the people of the region by promoting balanced, inclusive, sustainable, innovative and secure growth and by accelerating regional economic integration.

APEC has 21 members. The word ‘economies’ is used to describe APEC members because the APEC cooperative process is predominantly concerned with trade and economic issues, with members engaging with one another as economic entities.

Thailand has joined APEC in 1989 as a co-founding member, whereas Vietnam joined in 1998 along with Russia and Peru. Thailand as a host of APEC 2022 works with a fresh perspective to ensure that APEC will achieve a more balanced, resilient and sustainable growth.

APEC MembersDate of Joining
Australia6-7 Nov 1989
Brunei Darussalam6-7 Nov 1989
Canada6-7 Nov 1989
Chile11-12 Nov 1994
People’s Republic of China12-14 Nov 1991
Hong Kong, China12-14 Nov 1991
Indonesia6-7 Nov 1989
Japan6-7 Nov 1989
Republic of Korea6-7 Nov 1989
Malaysia6-7 Nov 1989
Mexico17-19 Nov 1993
New Zealand6-7 Nov 1989
Papua New Guinea17-19 Nov 1993
Peru14-15 Nov 1998
The Philippines6-7 Nov 1989
Russia14-15 Nov 1998
Singapore6-7 Nov 1989
Chinese Taipei12-14 Nov 1991
Thailand6-7 Nov 1989
The United States6-7 Nov 1989
Viet Nam14-15 Nov 1998

Who will attend ?

Fourteen world leaders have so far confirmed they will attend the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (Apec) Summit in Bangkok on November 18-19, according to Government House on Monday.

1. Prime Minister Anthony Albanese (Australia)

2. Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah (Brunei Darussalam)

3. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau (Canada)

4. President Xi Jinping (China)

5. Chief Executive John Lee (Hong Kong)

6. President Joko Widodo (Indonesia)

7. Prime Minister Fumio Kishida (Japan)

8. President Gabriel Boric (Chile)

9. President Pedro Castillo (Peru)

10. President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr (Philippines)

11. President Nguyễn Xuân Phúc (Vietnam)

12. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern (New Zealand)

13. Prime Minister James Marape (Papua New Guinea)

14. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong (Singapore)

Three non-Apec members will also attend the summit at the special invitation of host Thailand:

1. Cambodia – Prime Minister Hun Sen

2. France – President Emmanuel Macron

3. Saudi Arabia – Prime Minister and Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman

About the author

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Get notified of our weekly selection of news

You May Also Like

What Does APEC Do?

 APEC’s 21 members aim to create greater prosperity for the people of the region by promoting balanced, inclusive, sustainable, innovative and secure growth and by accelerating regional economic integration.

Thai Government Confirms Attendance of All 21 APEC Member Economies

Chinese President Xi Jinping, French President Emmanuel Macron, Saudi Crown Prince and Prime Minister Mohammad bin Salman, and Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen are among the leaders and representatives scheduled to attend the meeting.